It’s been a while

I’ve been busy.

Busy at work – loads of persistent bugs with a system we upgraded and a whole set of Data Centre move work.  Just been manic frankly.

Busy with studies.  Last Friday I submitted my final portfolio with all my work in it the t’s crossed and the i’s dotted and the various references all correct.  Well I hope so anyway.  It’s being checked over as I type and I’ve a week more to get any last minute hassles dealt with.  Then I’m over to just needing to build up my hours to finally get my diploma.

What else is going on?   Hugely proud – Daughter-of-Furtheron today messaged me from her holiday in the Canaries saying she’d got formal confirmation that she has graduated with with a 1st class honours in her BSc.  So proud of her.  She is now going on to do an MRES.  What is that? You ask…  It’s a Masters by Research bit like a mini PhD in one year where you do a research project and write a big dissertation.  Also her department was so impressed with her BSc final year dissertation that she is currently (well when back from her holiday) trying to redraft it in a form that is suitable for it to be submitted to a journal for publication.

With my son currently jetting all over the place in his role as a post doctoral researcher in magnetosphere’s and my daughter also with an option to follow a similarly impressive academic route or to move into some suitable employment I think I feel a substantial part of my role as a parent is complete.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s been a while

  1. What a beautiful thing.
    You gave the gift of yourself to your children. I bet they are super proud of dad, too!
    xo
    Wendy

  2. byebyebeer says:

    You did good, as they say. Your kids did good. You all have a lot to be proud of.

  3. Wow congratulations to your kids!! & to you for pulling your life back & obviously becoming a top dad!! Oh & I totally get not having time to post, I’m selling both my business & house at the moment- don’t recommend it 🙄 😊

  4. To say your role as a parent is ‘complete’ does not do justice to the great arc that your life has traveled. When things were at their worst, did you ever dare imagine you’d be in the place you’re in?

    Your wife, too. She’s to be commended as well.

  5. Liz Hinds says:

    Wow! you have amazing children! well done to you and Mrs F

Leave a Reply

