The end is nigh…

Those of you having been around long enough – since 2013 that is anyway will recall that I embarked on my journey towards counselling at that time.  I went part time at work, signed up for a Level 2 certificate skills course and… well that would take too long to write!

Here I am approaching four years later with a Level 2 Skills and Level 3 Studies qualifications under my belt and so far I’ve passed the external assessment of my skills and written paper.   In only a handful of weeks we’ll be finished on the diploma course.  One more skills assessment, internal this time, one more assignment to be handed in and one more case study to written, handed in and presented.

On our return after the Easter break we got a whole bunch of work back.  Good news is I got the marks I needed.  You have to prove your knowledge against a set of criteria in this qualification.  I got all the ones I was looking for from my case study and reviews.  So I’ve only got a handful still to get.  It all seems frighteningly close now, nearly within grasp.

The only outstanding thing will be hours.  I’ve totally finished with the drug and alcohol service I was with as they’ve withdrawn internal counselling services following a change to their funding from the council.   I have some options all in play, one progressing significantly and I’m all ok with that, I never expected to get the 100 hours in by now and I’m close to where I expected to be.

Soon they’ll be a need to actually answer the question – What will I do now I am a qualified counsellor?

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The end is nigh…

  1. Sober Again says:

    congrats. wish I had a good advice for your question but will follow to see how you find your answer.

  2. Congratulations, Graham!!
    You have one smart family!
    xo
    Wendy

  3. Now I know where the kids get their brilliance and drive from.

  4. mikeykjr says:

    The best advice I can give you is ask your fellow co-workers, those that you had the internship and those in the recovery community. I’m sure you’ll find your ideal career path in time when the time is right!

  5. auntjackie says:

    I’m so proud of you my friend!! Congratulations, and do whatever you feel in your soul is the right way to use this new role… I know you will find the right way to go for you. Stopping by to say hi. Aunt Jax

  6. Liz Hinds says:

    Well done you. Plenty of opportunities for volunteer counselling I’m sureand maybe that could progress to paid things?

Leave a Reply

