How proud can you get

My daughter has handed in her dissertation, attended her last lectures and been on the boozy night out.  Yes my little one has finished her degree!  In a few weeks we’ll find out what the result is – she is on course for a first BSc (Hons) in Psychology.  I read her dissertation for her, to check spelling, sense etc.  I could only hope to comment on the work – she’d done I thought a stunning piece of work.  She may return to it, her department has offered her an MRES (Masters through research) opportunity to further her work – bit like a mini PhD in one year.  She’s also had an interview for another masters focused on social work.  In Sept we’ll be watching her hat and gown in place graduate.  I’m so proud.

My son has moved into a really terrific flat in South London.  Lovely location, terrific flat, despite the climb up the stairs! etc.  He is so busy working with Cassini – yes the probe thing at Saturn, he’s in the calls with NASA about the path it takes on the dives and is awaiting the data to start processing it as some of his work is related to the “How long is a day on Saturn?” question.   I mean what can you say?   And he constructed a ton of IKEA furniture without issue when moving into the new flat!

I’m so lucky to simply be part of their lives.  I so nearly threw that all away back in the drinking days.  What would I now be thinking if I was watching this from afar, the rarely talked about absent Dad who they wouldn’t invite to graduation ceremonies or ask to help lug furniture over a wall into a car, out of a car and up three flights of stairs?

These are, for me, the true results of being sober today.  Of course I could throw it all away – I only need to reach out for a drink.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How proud can you get

  1. Congratulations dad, you should be very proud, of all three of you!
    Sharon

  2. Wow. So many things are working out for you. I’m glad.

    And I’ve always wondered but am finally asking. Is “Further On” at all a reference to the Taj Mahal song: “Further on down the road”?

    Just curious. Hope you have a great day.

    • furtheron says:

      Crickey – you’re close… but no cigar. Actually a reference to Eric Clapton’s Further on up the Road – which was a reworking of an older song – Farther on up the road. My first ever blog was called that, a reference to looking forward not backwards

  3. Lisa Neumann says:

    I absolutely love reading this post. As we climb along in years (sober) we get so many beautiful moments. I would have missed out on so much had I still been drinking. I can feel your grin from here.

  4. What a wonderful post! Congrats proud dad! 🙂

  5. Keep your eye on the prize.

  6. Congratulations to your kids!
    And you!
    xo
    Wendy

  7. Liz Hinds says:

    Oh, that is so beautiful! I was in prison this morning and the chaplain talked about the people we’d let down by not being there for them. I always think, ‘There but for the grace of God.’

Leave a Reply

