Boiler fixing hero

I hope I’m not jinxing this but the boiler was fixed yesterday.  A quick recap…

17th Jan – it started pouring water out of the overflow pipe every time we used it.  There was an attempt to fix it.  Failed.
New expansion vessel fitted – that’ll fix it… didn’t
Continued to use it with the fault.
31st Jan – attempt to fit a new heat exchanger.  I can’t describe the disaster this was.  Boiler left in a state that it was simply unusable and disconnected.
3 Feb – another attempt to fix this – another failure
7 Feb – a hero turns up.  Removes what is left of the boiler off the wall – which frankly wasn’t much and begins to reassemble the boiler from scratch.  More water everywhere when a seal failed, then flooded electrics denied it working although I had hope then as we had heating for about 15 mins.  Finally after an epic build and fixing it was all fixed last evening.  It was still working this morning.  I pray I don’t get home to a flood and it broken again.

So… aside from that.  I’ve finished my written exams, awaiting results due in late March now.  Panic about case studies now.  Honestly studying when you are older isn’t the fun it seemed when I was younger – maybe I didn’t care so much.

In other news my tinnitus has been really bad again – triggered by a trip to the dentist, whether the noise or vibration on that side or simply that I was really tense throughout the whole procedure I don’t know.  I’ve got to have a wisdom tooth extracted on that side too and some more work elsewhere so frankly not looking forward to that too much.

On a grander scale I’m flabbergasted by almost every other news story at the moment.  Brexit, Executive Orders, Populist support for banning Muslims coming to Europe etc. I feel almost like I’ve been thrown into some dystopian novel.   I have to decide my level of comfort with involvement in these things.  I very publicly on one social media site signed a petition about the UK leaving the EU and stated my position.  I was somewhat surprised with the number of people who followed my link and signed as well.  It at least showed me I’m not alone in my distaste for this post-truth world. However I can’t change the world so I have to accept it and determine to work with it in some way even if I am against it.

Serenity at the moment is a word I comprehend but seldom seem to have as a comfy bedfellow.

 

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Boiler fixing hero

  1. ainsobriety says:

    I truly hope the boiler is working and you have hot water.
    Tinnitus sucks. I know people at work with it. Whenever I hear the word I think I should really be wearing ear plugs more often when I’m standing against the speakers at slayer…

    I’m not sure what is happening with the world. Some days I think I should ignore the news completely. It’s just hard to comprehend.

    Anne

  2. It’s a frightening world right now. I worry for my young grandchildren, especially the girls. Our so called President is completely unhinged and unraveling before our eyes. I don’t watch the news, it’s like viewing a train wreck. Stay warm and seek the light.
    Sharon

  3. Graham,
    I am really sorry about your tinntus.
    As far as the world?
    I keep waiting for cooler heads to prevail over here, and there don’t seem to be any.
    I have no idea how this is going to end, but it is indeed scary new world.
    xo
    Wendy

  4. looby says:

    Our boiler pulled the same trick recently — sending Niagara Falls onto the flat roof down the waste pipe every time it was on. Too a fortnight of constant phone calls and failed appointments to get it fixed.

    Brexit is going to be an utter car crash.

    • furtheron says:

      Yes – our learned representatives having debated at length, then passed the Brexit Bill unamended… I’m beyond dismayed.
      So much for my protestations to my local MP about preserving research funding within Horizon 2020 and retaining our place in Euratom – both of which we could easily negotiate. But no Brexit means Brexit as we march towards a diminished place in the world. Don’t we all feel so much freer from the constraints of those in Brussels? I frankly think those in Westminster are the bloody problem – always have been. Wait until Sunderland look around at less service provision etc. etc. as more goods arrive at the Barking Eurohub on a train from China, oh yes that freight exchange, built with EU money. You have to laugh at the bonkers irony of it all if not you’d go mental.

  5. Paul S says:

    Sorry about the tinnitus, Graham. I hope it gets better.
    As for the direction the world is taking…I can’t even. Somedays I turn away from it all, and other days I am watching it moment by moment, wondering if and when the tide will turn.
    Anyway, I can only focus on what I can do to help my fellow folks around me.

    Glad your boiler is working (for now) and seeing your post!

    Cheers
    Paul

  6. What’s a boiler? I barely qualify as a man. I couldn’t do what he did. I’m pretty useless around the house. The only thing I keep in my took kit is a checkbook. But I know my way around a theater or art museum.

    I’m sorry to hear about the tinnitus. What a cruel trick to play on a musician.

    Our country is going down the tubes in the worst way. I am deriving some twisted joy from watching that fool in the White House destroy everything in his path.

Leave a Reply

