2016 – and then there were none!

Well it almost seems that way doesn’t it.  Lemmy, God Bless him started it all of when he finally proved he wasn’t immortal after all at the very end of 2015 but since then… David Bowie, Pete Burns, Leonard Cohen, , Gene Wilder, Kenny Burns (R2D2), Caroline Ahern, Carla Lane, Mohammed Ali, Prince, Victoria Wood, Paul Daniels, Ronnie Corbett, Terry Wogan, Alan Rickman, Harper Lee, Keith Emerson (for me perhaps the saddest) and his band mate Greg Lake.

The list is a list of people I’ve grown up with in my life, some were those I had huge respect for Lee, Emerson, Lake, Bowie, Wilder, Ali, Wood, Corbett… some I never really got it Wogan (to me always a bit of a jovial but bumbling fool) and Prince – to me I never really got it, some of his stuff was good but I never got the adulation he often garnered.  Then others will look at ELP and point to Pirates as a ridiculous overblown theatrical piece and I’d smile and nod and say “Yes that was the genius of it for me, a whole musical in 13 mins!”

For how long will these people live on in history?  Most of these have achievements that’ll remain talked about for a long, long time – Ali for example and Bowie’s ability to continually reinvent himself and stay relevant throughout his career.  Others a place in the nations psyche that will retain them for many years – Wogan, Corbett, Wood…

One thing though – If I were Carl Palmer – I’d be crapping bricks right now!

I leave you with my favourite ELP track though… Pirates!!!  Aha me hearties…

 

 

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2016 – and then there were none!

  1. Why the saddest? Because he took his own life? I was such a fan of theirs. Two down, one to go. **P. Thanks for the video. I hadn’t heard that in a long, long time and always liked it.

    • furtheron says:

      Yes – and given the reason why. Reminded me very much of Losing It by Rush – even as a teenager when I first heard that the realisation that for some people to get to a point in their lives when they can’t do what has been their overriding passion in life must be so crushing. – Where the sun will rise no more – what a poignant line.

      “Losing It”

      The dancer slows her frantic pace
      In pain and desperation
      Her aching limbs and downcast face
      Aglow with perspiration

      Stiff as wire, her lungs on fire
      With just the briefest pause
      The flooding through her memory
      The echoes of old applause

      She limps across the floor
      And closes her bedroom door…

      The writer stare with glassy eyes
      Defies the empty page
      His beard is white, his face is lined

      And streaked with tears of rage

      Thirty years ago, how the words would flow
      With passion and precision
      But now his mind is dark and dulled
      By sickness and indecision

      And he stares out the kitchen door
      Where the sun will rise no more…

      Some are born to move the world
      To live their fantasies
      But most of us just dream about
      The things we’d like to be
      Sadder still to watch it die
      Than never to have known it
      For you, the blind who once could see
      The bell tolls for thee…

  2. Holy shit, I forgot just how good that is. Thanks, again. Nice way to top my morning.

  3. JJ says:

    Ah, Ronnie Corbett, I loved him, such a blow when they die. This is one thing about ageing, apart from losing family members, that is really hard to take: musicians, writers, actors, all the people you grew up with also die, the movies and the music changes and you feel kind of out of it.

    Robert Vaughn, Glenn Frey, Arnold Palmer, Alan Rickman, Morley Safer (let’s not forget journalists and TV news people who die), Patty Duke, Umberto Eco..

    I find it immensely sad when an author I like will write no more books.

Leave a Reply

