When you are moved to tears by your kids

My son texted me at about 3pm on Friday afternoon. It was a short text saying

“Dr son-of-Furtheron now thank you!!”

I very nearly cried. So proud of all his incredible hard work. He impressed me getting into university reading physics. He had to do a foundation year which he aced. At the end of that he said to me that as soon as he could he’d change from the BSc to an MPhys in Space Science. He did and won a place to go to Svalbard in his last year. That was all impressive enough. Then he got a first and won a prestigious prize. Then he landed a good PhD studentship and now in just over 3 years he’s aced that. 

So unbelievably proud of him. 

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to When you are moved to tears by your kids

  1. Wow, wow, WOW! Congratulations, Graham, I have tears in my eyes just reading this! So happy for your family!

  2. noddysober says:

    Amazing. Congrats to you and your son.

  3. This is so wonderful! Cry away! I know I would be bursting my buttons with pride. 🙂

  4. Dr.

    It has a nice ring to it. Well done, sir. Don’t think you didn’t have a hand in all this.

  5. Suburbia says:

    Congrats to you both

  6. That is amazing!!
    Congratulations to your son!
    xo
    wendy

  7. looby says:

    You’ve every reason to be bursting with pride. They don;t give out PhDs like sweeties. Well done son!

  8. That’s awesome. I had a similar moment rocking my girl to sleep not long ago. Just flooded with gratitude for her.

  9. JJ says:

    It IS amazing, think of the focus and discipline this takes. He must get a lot of joy from the subject.

    I don’t have children but have always enjoyed seeing what children do and what they’re interested in and how their minds develop. When my husband meets people he comes and tells me that so-and-so’s child is going to university, and I always ask “What are they majoring in?” and he says “I don’t know” and I always want to know all the details.

  10. Liz Hinds says:

    And so you should be! Congratulations to you all. x

  11. elsieamata says:

    How incredibly amazing! Congratulations to him and to you! Great job dad! 🙂

  12. daisyfae says:

    Physics! Yes! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

