Days into Months, Months into Years, Years into Decades

I was privileged to hear someone talking about a milestone in their recovery.  35 years sober.  35 years!!!  For me to have hit that achievement I’d have had to stopped drinking when I wasn’t quite 19!  This person though is far from unique in my recovery circle I know plenty with 20 years or so even one venerable fellow who is closing on 50 years.  He stopped drinking about the time I first went to primary school!

What is amazing about these people is that they don’t rate their achievement any higher than a person who has a day, a week, a month or a year sober.  It is the old adage “one day at a time”.  For those that follow this path frankly each day ought to be as miraculous as the first.   But for me I’ve grown accustomed to being sober, to not drinking, to not even thinking about drinking other than in relationship to my own alcoholism and my decision that for me the best solution to my problems was to adopt total abstinence.  I can take it a bit for granted and that is something I feel guilty about when I sit there and hear someone talk about their sobriety with such great humility.

I also have the privilege to meet someone who is a bit further down the counselling journey than me.  We talked about addictions.  We talked about food addiction.  I stated my belief that overeating is a really difficult addiction to address.  I feel that since many (alcohol, drugs, gambling etc.) abstinence is no burden on life.  However with some, food being the most obvious example, you have no option but control.  You can’t abstain from food can you?  You have to eat so that having to control your addiction through necessity must be so so hard.

 

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Days into Months, Months into Years, Years into Decades

  1. Rob says:

    I too used to think the same thing about food addiction – you have to eat so, what does it mean to be “in recovery” ? I then read a book by Robert Lefever (he used to run a treatment centre) that explained it very well. He argued that only certain foods – normally sugar and white flour – cause the addictive reaction of loss of control and over-eating. Very few people for example binge on carrots ! So recovery from food addiction is about identifying the problem/trigger foods and abstaining from them. That made more sense to me, and I could then see how someone could be “sober” in relation to eating.

    • furtheron says:

      Robert is someone on this topic I’d thoroughly recommend. I know him well he was there at the very start of my own recovery journey. The diet we followed at the rehab was terrific food but without stuff like sugar, refined white flour etc

  2. It’s hard to believe you could fall back into it after 35 years but they say it’s possible.

    • furtheron says:

      The one that always strikes me is one guy I knew well when I first got sober. I saw him relapse after 18 years and again after about another 10. The second one was a real struggle for him to get sober again and he is now sadly a shadow of his former self

  3. I know the people I meet who are sober for many years, all are so grateful they are sober today.
    Just today!
    xo
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

