Is it Easter?

That has been a confusing question actually.  Some years ago my local authority decided that they would “fix when Easter occurs”.  I’d have thought a conversation with the pope was necessary since it’s been the first Sunday after the first full moon after the vernal (or spring) equinox for a very long time.   This is why, by the way,  in the UK Mothering Sunday moves about.  It is (I think) the 4th Sunday in Lent.  The start of Lent is clearly dependent on the timing of Easter so moves about based on when Easter falls.

This years Easter was early being about as close to the Vernal Equinox as it could be.  However since my local authority “fixed Easter” in terms of two six week terms with a one week break from the start of the year this has meant there are the two public holidays for Easter (Good Friday and the Monday after Easter Sunday) but then the schools complete the week Easter Monday is in before breaking for “Easter” Break.  So where I work was closed last week and my daughter was off too – universities ignoring this stuff and just fixing their Easter closure around Easter whilst my wife had to work.  This week I’m back and work and she is off.  So… Is it Easter?

One thing that is true is that now I’ve broken up for Easter break on my course I can reflect on a successful term.  Around Christmas I felt I was a bit “behind” on some stuff.  Generally I felt that after my period of sickness before Christmas.  Oh by the way, still no news on a date for my operation!  Around the half term break I felt that I perhaps I needed to get my act together regarding a placement as others in my group seemed to be forging ahead on that front.  The last time I mentioned all this I’d put in a formal application to a particular agency.  Well good news is that I’ve had two interviews there – informal and formal and have been provisionally offered a placement there.  It all currently works well with my existing work patterns too which is a real result.  All the paperwork is in for them to start the necessary checks before I work there and then I’ve a bunch of training I’ll have to complete but that is all ok.

I needed to get a letter of proficiency from my training centre before I could start working with clients too.  So I booked a date to carry that out – you have to tape a session with a friendly peer acting as your client, write a statement of why you think you are ready and submit those for review.  I’d been expecting some feedback and then have another stab after Easter;  all working towards starting a placement sometime in the summer.  It was a very pleasant surprise to be told I was considered “proficient” in my first attempt.   So a total result really I’m already to go once I’m cleared and have done the training.  It’ll be a challenge.  The agency is a drug and substance misuse service and whilst I have my own experience as a help there is no doubt that it’ll be a challenge all round in terms of clients, issues presented, systems they have to use to demonstrate back to the NHS funders etc.

So a nice time to reflect and realise this has been a term well done.  All my assignments were in on time before the end of the term and with my proficiency letter and placement offer in place woohoo!

 

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is it Easter?

  1. I’m so thrilled for you that you found a placement already! Congratulations!

  2. Liz Hinds says:

    Your council has fixed Easter?! Sort of UDI? That’s brave. As you say i’d have thought they’d have had to talk to the Archbish at least. Must be slightly baffling though. I assume the churches stuck with the proper one. Yes, I understand your confusion.

    Well done on your placement and the wellness with which your course is going. (Please excuse wellness. I had to google UDI and I’m not sure if it’s what I want. Brain not on full power mode.)

  3. Congratulations!
    You have worked very hard, and I am so glad you have a pace to work now!!
    Our Easter is whenever the calendar tells me!
    Ha!
    xo
    Wendy

  4. looby says:

    Excellent — and as someone who knows people in alcohol and drug counselling on both sides of the table — I know it’s a compliment to you to be considered for that placement, as it’s not exactly a walk in the park sometimes.

    The moveable Easter terms irritate me. One of my girls’ schools lets then have the four day weekend off, then they’re back for two weeks, then it’s end of term. The other school ignores school term lengths to have (what I think is still correct) the two weeks either side of Easter Sunday off. If that means a short term before Easter and a longer Summer one then so be it. Like you, everyone was (and still is!) on different schedules over Easter. Well I still follow the old pagan rule — the one you quote in your post.

    So Happy Easter anyway, wherever she may be found!

Leave a Reply

