Gone in the blink of an eye…

My son is 25 today…   WHAT!  Yes hot on the heels of Mrs F and I celebrating our 30th anniversary my son is no longer a youth… well the old definition anyway.  When I was a teenager if your were under 25 and arrested, or appeared in court the local paper always reported it as “a youth”.  I suspect most people would draw the line at 21 now and in the criminal justice system 18 – once 18 you are housed in a prison not a young offenders institute.

Anyway – enough of my blathering on about inconsequential definitions.  My son is a responsible, successful adult.  Flippin’ heck… how’d that all happen?  He was home for the weekend, highlight of which was a BBQ, with enough food to feed an army, with some of his long standing best friends which was a great laugh – punctuated by him and I both risking life and limb in trying to kill a wasp nest in the soffit boards of our dining room extension.  We failed as the “wasp nest destroyer” foam spray can I’d bought simply couldn’t really get into the hole they were going in and out of successfully.  So Mrs F called in an expert who dealt with it in seconds on Monday… there’s a lesson I continue not to learn …

P.S. I’ll post some pictures from the Suffolk trip soon too.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gone in the blink of an eye…

  1. JJ says:

    Crikey, I thought I was the only one struggling with wasps in the soffit. It’s unbelievable, every year the little creeps get in. Fortunately they seem to have died from numerous applications of spray.

    Pretty soon your son will have his own house and can struggle with wasps and earwigs in the garden. With age, comes great responsibility!

    • furtheron says:

      He lives in a swish apartment block in Birmingham … his comment was “I just get the concierge to fix it!” … How the other half live eh?

      • JJ says:

        Oh really…the concierge. I laughed and laughed. I wish I had a concierge. Imagine the fees per month just to have a concierge fix things!!??

    • furtheron says:

      P.S. I also plan in the Autumn to buy several tubes of sealant and endeavour to block up all the cracks the little sods seem to find

  2. Untipsyteacher says:

    My husband always has a fight on with wasps, chipmunks, or other such little critters!
    xo
    Wendy

  3. Untipsyteacher says:

    And PS – Cool about your son!

  4. You don’t look old enough to have a 25 year old kid 🙂

  5. liz says:

    Our children sneak up on us and get grown while we’re look away for one second.

Leave a Reply

