30 years ago

What happened 30 years ago this month?  LiveAid – yes yes… but more importantly Mrs F and I got married.  HOW long ago?!  Yes 30 years through fair wind and rough storms we’ve somehow stayed in the same rowing boat together and added a couple of children – now adults – to the crew who seem to be asking others to now come along for some of the ride too.

I remember the day obviously – well significant bits of it.  Waking up on the little fold out guest bed in the living room of the house I’d been born in and grew up in.  My last night there and I’d had to let my aunt and uncle have my bed!  The tension waiting at the front of the church and not turning around as Mrs F had insisted I didn’t look at her until she was alongside me.  Seeing her there and saying “You look beautiful”.  etc. etc.  What I can’t remember is what I thought life would become for us.  I never foresaw the issues with getting our first house sorted out.  The job changes that would come.  Parenthood!!!  Now that was something with no idea about.  Then the dark side – my drinking – where it took me and her and the children.

Anyway of course something special is needed to mark this momentous milestone.  We’re off for a short holiday… to Ipswich! See that’s why she stays with me the slightly unconventional side of me perhaps… who needs Venice?

375736_10151039185787367_23731281_n

Some young couple from a day in July in 1985… btw that moustache and glasses combination was considered fashionable then… well by me anyways…

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 30 years ago

  1. looby says:

    Eeeh… Ipswich. No wonder the marriage has lasted. You know how to treat a lass!

    I was in a pub the other day and this woman was saying about her husband, “‘Ee alwuz wonss tek me t’Paris. I say t’im, I say, ‘Don’t bo’er wi’ Paris, tek me t’Yorkshire’.”

  2. Lily says:

    Aww, this post genuinely warmed the cockles of my heart. Congrats to you both and have a lovely time in Ipswich…which kinda sounds like a contradiction in terms.

  3. C says:

    Happy anniversary and congrats to the pair of you. And what a wonderfully eighties photo!
    Ipswich?!?! Just up the road from me… I’ll be curious to know what you think of the place.

  4. byebyebeer says:

    Oh fabulous!! Congratulations to you both and thank you for sharing this heartwarming, hopeful post (plus that mustache!).

  5. JJ says:

    Oh you crazy kids, starting the adventure together! Well done 30 years, and Ipswich is just THE place to go for sure.

  6. Bea says:

    Congratulations to you both! Love that ‘Magnum’ tache!

  7. Sherry says:

    Congratulations!!!! Such a handsome couple!

    Sherry

  8. Untipsyteacher says:

    Happy Anniversary!!
    I love the photo!!
    Have fun!!
    I love a love story!!
    xo
    Wendy

  9. Well done, sir. A hearty congrats to you both but maybe especially to her. She went through some rough waters and you guys are still together. Happy to see it. Wish you could bottle that stuff. You’d never have a cash-flow problem again.

  10. Happy anniversary! To many more happy years to you both!

  11. liz says:

    Hope you’re enjoying Ipswich. I’ve been to Venice and frankly I can’t see why you would go to there when you could go to Ipswich. Or Lampeter in our case. Where would we poor romantic women be without our men? (Ah, yes, Venice.)

  12. daisyfae says:

    Happy Anniversary! 30 is a great run! It’s fun to think back to what was going through my mind on the day i married (1984 for me…). i truly had NO idea what was ahead of us. It all worked out well, but it was absolutely impossible to anticipate the road ahead… As my eldest just got married at the tender age of 29, i wonder how she envisions the future – and whether it’ll veer far from that vision….

Leave a Reply

