Exams… and melancholy memories

Yesterday was my final exam for this year on the course.   I was reasonably happy with how it went, little bit of bad time management in one bit.  Not quiet sure the example I quoted in another was good enough… but enough of that – what done is done.  Wait now until September for the results.  I feel pretty confident I did enough to pass which at the end of the day, especially on a qualification where there is no grading simply you get it or you don’t, is all I have to do.  We went for a coffee and a cake in a posh tea shop near our centre which was nice and luckily we didn’t pick over the bones of the exam at all!

One thing hit me – I may be wrong as my age increases I doubt my memory more, not something I used to do but…   I’m sure 6th June 1984 was the last final exam on my college course when I was a mere 21 year old.  Similar day to yesterday, I remember we headed to a pub garden where there was a lot of diagnosis of answers all round.  31 years ago – where’s that time gone?

10 years ago today I woke up in Brussels, Belgium.  I was there for a meeting with my old company.  During the morning news came through of the horrific 7/7 attacks in London.  I remember my concern being about getting home on the Eurostar that night – remember I’d ended up trapped for days in NYC after 9/11 and didn’t relish a similar experience.  Also concerns about my brother who worked in London at the time.  He missed the Aldgate bomb by a few mins thankfully though soon gave up his job in London.  I now work a stone’s throw from the site of the Tavistock Square bus bomb on that day.  Last week I walked past the small memorial plaque on the railings near the BMA there.  I paused and paid my respects to the 13 people killed on that spot that day.  The fact that London continues to be so busy and expanding is testament that you can’t kill the spirit of people with that kind of terrorist act.

Then 5 years ago I left my old job – the one I was for over 19 years, a significant chunk of my life and one I still feel probably the most connected to in all my time.  The one I committed the most to and would point to as having had at least one if not two career highs.  I don’t know if I’ll ever hit that sweet spot of doing something I wanted to in an environment where it was exactly what was valued at the time.

So this week has many memories and I found myself yesterday afternoon when out for a relaxing walk along the seafront with my wife after the exam feeling quiet melancholy.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Exams… and melancholy memories

  1. You survived and accomplished all that and feel melancholy? I think some euphoria is in order!

  2. JJ says:

    I often feel melancholy when I get into the Wayback Machine. I think it’s a natural property of reflection when you’ve lived a good, long time. Perhaps it makes us feel compassion for other people, this melancholia?

  3. Sherry says:

    I get this. So much.

    Sherry

  4. Bea says:

    A lot of things to process there. Heady stuff. I hope the sea walk restored your equilibrium. And good luck with that exam result 🙂

  5. Untipsyteacher says:

    I hope the walk helped.
    When I walk with my hubby, it helps me when I feel down!
    xo
    Wendy

  6. liz says:

    Exam time, brrr, I remember it well. Glad it’s done and dusted for you.

    Sea air and the sight and sound of the sea is always, without fail, beneficial.

  7. looby says:

    I remember the 7/7 bombiings too. We all had to walk cos they closed the Tube for a while. It did have a slightly ridiculous air to it as none of us really knew where we were going. It’s called the Underground for a reason! Enjoy you exam-free strolls!

Leave a Reply

