The final leg

We returned to our counselling course last night after a brief break.  I have to say I’ve felt a little bit disconnected from the course over the last few weeks.  After the Easter break since we meet on a Monday we’ve had two bank holidays in May and one week with the mock exam so didn’t meet as a normal group, with the exam and the last bank holiday it felt like ages since we’d met together.

We’re into the final straight now.  The finishing line is in sight.  Both a good thing and a curse!  Good as it is good to see the end coming on something you’ve worked on a long time that you knew had a fixed end point from the very moment you started it.  But now each week seems to be a gallop to the finish line, another chance lost potentially to get marks on points I still need to complete my portfolio.  So a sense both of keenness to complete but also concern I’ll miss something out!

Good news is that we had our results back from our mock exam and went over the questions.  I did well passing with a fair margin above the pass mark, that was gratifying.  Working through the questions and hearing the indicative answers and also what others had noted and written was a help too in giving me more material to digest.

The good news on the tinnitus front continues.  Sometimes when I get it a bit and it annoys me and is distracting etc. but essentially even better the last couple of days from where it was over the weekend.

As I write this I’ve also been jogging around the news sites this morning – Charles Kennedy has passed away.  Very sad.  Charles was the leader of the Liberal Democrats and a long serving politician in the UK.  He lost his seat in parliament in the recent election when the Scottish National Party swept all before them in Scotland.  The news reports say he was discovered dead at his home and that the death is not regarded as suspicious.  Of course despite his long service to his party and the country he’ll sadly be mostly remember for having to resign as the leader of his party to address his alcohol problem.  I can’t say whether he succeeded and whether his death is related at all but … another good man dead at only 55.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The final leg

  1. JJ says:

    I admire your tenacity Graham, you are so focused in your courses. Good news on the tinnitus, so glad to hear that.

  2. Lily says:

    The counselling courses are tough Graham, as you already know, so well done on almost reaching the finishing line. The counselling profession definitely needs more people like you. People with insight, who are able to reflect upon their own problems in order to help others with theirs. Wishing the best for you.

    Sad news about Charles Kennedy. I only heard of his passing a couple of hours ago.

  3. Bea says:

    Very best of luck with the exam. Sounds like you’ve earned success 🙂

  4. Untipsyteacher says:

    Good counsellors/psychologists are so important.
    I have had some wonderful ones that have helped me in many ways!
    What kind of counsellor are you going to be?
    (If that is even a “good” question to ask. I mean an addiction one, or for mental health issues?)
    Hugs!
    Wendy

  5. SoberMom says:

    You’re going to make a great counselor. (I know I say that a lot but I mean it.)

    Sherry

  6. I can’t believe you’re nearly finished. It seems like just yesterday when we chatted over coffee and tea about your job change 🙂 I think you’re going to be amazing in this line of work.

Leave a Reply

