John

With a sad and heavy heart I’m here today again to write my little eulogy to a passed friend.  John died last night after battling cancer for a while.  He lost.  He had about 8 years ago beaten alcoholism and become a great friend.  We went to gigs sometimes together or met up at things like The Rochester Sweeps Festival.  This year was funny going to that and knowing he wouldn’t be about somewhere with his camera, laugh and smile.  He was lying in hospital fighting his last losing battle.

Terrific man who’ll I’ll sadly miss.   I remember meeting him at a meeting about Public Information work I was involved with in AA.  He’d just moved to the area only a few months sober trying to find things to occupy his time he told me.  Soon I saw him at plenty of meetings and learned of his love of music which did cross over in some areas with mine and we went to gigs in groups or a couple of times together like a couple of old farts sat in the seats at the back of a Newton Faulkner gig for example as John’s legs wouldn’t take standing up for a couple of hours!  But mostly I’ll miss his humour, his great love and passion for sobriety, seeing and instantly recognising his little blue MG and most of all his friendship.  RIP John

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to John

  1. SoberMom says:

    I’m so sorry Furtherton. I hope he’s at peace now. I really hate cancer….
    Grieve well my friend.
    Sherry

  2. Lily says:

    To fight one battle only to lose another, really is a great tragedy.
    My heart goes out to you.

  3. Untipsyteacher says:

    I am very sorry.
    xo
    Wendy

  4. liz says:

    So sorry for another loss.

  5. You’ve had a tough time losing lovely people. My sympathies to you and your friend’s family.

  6. Hi Graham. I was out of town and just now playing catch-up. All good wishes to you and John’s family. Nice that you had some special moment with him before it was all over.

Leave a Reply

