Let them eat cake

Yesterday evening as I was leaving work I looked on Facebook – there was this terrific photo of a cake my daughter had made.  Terrific!!!

cake1

Then I read the comments.  This week is SATs tests week at the school my wife works at.  My daughter has just finished her first year at uni and has volunteered to help out too.  I then find the cake is for the school staff for their break time after all the hassles of the tests today.   I plead for some to be told no!  The photo created so many comments on Facebook – at least 50 from the staff at the school.

So this morning as I left for my train to work… I hid the cake!   I left this note in its place.

cake2

This is the  facebook demand I left

“Muuuhahaha!!! I’ve hidden the cake aka “my precious ” promise to bake peanut cookies and I’ll tell you where it is….”

Here is what my daughter subsequently posted on facebook…

“So yesterday I baked a cake for the TA’s at Mum’s school as its SATS week and im in helping, Dad was not amused he couldnt have any. So this morning im woken up by my mum shouting that we have to find the cake. It seems my dad decided to HIDE the cake and leave this ransom note along with the demand of peanut cookies on facebook!! After searching the house I found the cake badly disguised by a hat and scarf. The cake is safe however my dad might not be… mum is not amused. I thought it was pretty funny..”

Looks like an apology is in order… I thought it was a laugh!

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let them eat cake

  1. One man’s (or woman’s) belly laugh is another man’s panic button. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked into my kitchen only to be told the sweet-smelling delight was not for me. You’d think you get used to it but you don’t.

  2. C says:

    I had a quick look at this this morning… and now I’ve been fancying cake like mad all day…

  3. Untipsyteacher says:

    That was funny!!
    Made me smile!!
    My husband would die if I made him anything!
    I do buy him ice cream once in awhile!
    xo
    Wendy

  4. SoberMom says:

    Oh dude…you NEVER separate a post menopausal woman from her cake. You’re lucky to be alive!!!
    Sherry
    (PS – don’t tell but I thought it was funny too)

  5. liz says:

    You were taking your life in your hands!

Leave a Reply

