I Went Down To The Crossroads…

I feel very much like I’m at a crossroads at the moment.

I’m just about a third through this years course, just about to start one of the major parts of it – “The Case Study”… (Dramatic descending organ chords)…  Basically for the first time ever I sit in a room with someone, just the two us no body observing or it being recorded in anyway, and that person will open their mouth to talk about something that is of concern to them, not a dreamt up scenario just handed to them to roleplay.  Also new ground will be that when we finish the first session we’ll be expecting a follow on session … and another.

Now I really am looking forward to this.  This is as close to “real stuff” I’ll get to at my current level of training.  Now the “client” will be someone else on the course not just someone random off the street and the topic presented not expected to be anything traumatic for them or I.  And I really am looking forward to it.  Sometime back I know that would not have been my feeling less than a week before our first scheduled session.

I’m progressing with starting some voluntary work which is likely to be a challenge.   And then at work people are leaving in bus loads… well I exaggerate but my boss has quit and so has a close colleague.  I’m contemplating applying for my bosses job.  Do I really want it?  No but the money would be good, my expectations that I could live on 40% of my old salary when I went part time has proved not totally accurate.  I’m not fighting the wolves away but sooner or later we have an issue to address there.  Also I need to at some point in the next few months think about the next stage of training.  If I move on I will commit to much more expense over 2 years and have to find some placement where I will be doing real work with real clients.  That will require time and won’t be paid obviously.

Hmm…   I Went Down To The Crossroads….

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Went Down To The Crossroads…

  1. byebyebeer says:

    I can feel your excitement and hope in this post. I love it when I have options and time to explore and see how they play out before making a decision. In my undergraduate studies 20 years ago, I had similar internship practice with counseling. In retrospect, I was too young then. Too lacking in experience, for one, but also in emotional maturity. I didn’t like how it felt and abandoned it, and now reading about your experience and positive outlook I’m really excited for you. Being present for another human being is such a gift, and to think you can help them and do it as a job is pretty cool.

  2. sherryd32148 says:

    …fell down on my knees.

    This all sounds exciting and terrifying all at the same time. Such big decisions but such an exciting time. I still believe you’d make a really excellent counselor.

    And you will NOT be sinking down.

    Sherry

  3. Hmm crossroads…I have to say, up until this point reacting to life’s crossroads has not been my forte (!) but to me, it sounds like you are on the right path with your counseling. What a gift.

  4. Oy, you really are at a crossroads betwixt the old and new. It’s too bad that the old salary isn’t enough because it sounds like you’d be alright not contemplating your boss’ job otherwise. Do you know why people are leaving (no need to answer this to me)? Perhaps that would make your own situation even harder if you are faced with whatever those employees were dealing with that made them decide to go. I’m sure you’ll sort it out. Wishing you well.

  5. daisyfae says:

    That’s a tough one. My approach is often to seek hybrid solutions – where you might be able to combine a bit of both. May not be possible, as the coursework is probably not something that can be completed with a full-time position. Have to agree with Exile on Pain Street – not going to be a boring year!

    • furtheron says:

      Currently the Hybrid is what I do – 2 days “work” 3 days voluntary / studies but that isn’t sustainable really – financially I’ll be broke at some point soon. Sadly most counselling work is moving voluntary in the UK as mostly it is charities who provide it and there are too many people in training like me who will work for nothing. It’s becoming like being a musician – find me a non-professional musician who gets paid gigs any more?

Leave a Reply

