Taking Health For Granted

I’m no doubt like many others in that I take health for granted.  I mean good health.  Luckily all my immediate family are healthy with few ailments that limit life’s activities.  However the last few weeks have thrown that into perspective.

My vertigo/tinnitus/migraine combination whilst better than the first attack about 7 weeks ago has been a recurring pain in the backside, well head and ear actually.  It comes and goes.  The last three days have been the first time of that length clear from nothing intruding to disturb me since the attacks started again.  It is a minor issue really in the scheme of things, yes it makes listening to people in noisy situations next to impossible, playing the guitar can be painful which is a massive shame to me obviously, the wobbliness has not been totally debilitating but I’ve had a couple of minor falls as a result.  I’m sure when one of these happened the people around me thought I was a drunk just trying to get on the train since my inability to know exactly where the floor and the sky was meant I completely lost my footing getting onto a train.  Still no-one sat next to me for the journey so maybe a benefit and given how I used to be sometimes in the past the fact I now notice people’s reaction is so funny.

However the other concern is Mrs F.  She isn’t well at all.  A long standing issue of someone of her age (ladies will understand) led her going to the doctor.  A prescription just made things worse and she hurt her back badly somehow.  Back to the doctor and he prescribed a second load of tablets.  She then gave up on the first lot.  The back pain slowly eased but then heart palpitations.  Her Dad used to get them but his doctor just said something like “Eat less cheese” – remember the health service of the 70s?  She went back to docs – saw a lady doctor this time.  Stop all drugs!  The long standing situation has improved a bit and the palpitations have eased a bit but she has had some nights where sleeping has proved very difficult.

For people who generally have enjoyed carefree life with no issues these have to us become a big deal – anything we have, strained back, cold, headache, stomach upset just go within a day or two… these are a sign no doubt of our increasing decrepidness!  Once we are better again I hope we don’t take that for granted as much as we have in the past

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taking Health For Granted

  1. I do a lot of bitching and complaining but I have always felt lucky to be healthy. Even when I’m down in the dumps, I can always admit to myself that I’ve got my health and that counts for PLENTY.

    A speedy recovery to your wife. Back pain is the worst. It take forever to go away and in the meantime, it’s all you think about.

  2. looby says:

    Every healthy day I have I appreciate greatly. I take nothing for granted and know it’s a complete lottery. And given my leisure habits, I’m waiting for some long-postponed illness to come and bite me any day. All the best to Mrs F, and I also hope you can sort the train-horizon interface out 🙂

  3. Ugh. I hope both you and your wife feel better.

    Your experience “seeming” drunk reminds me of something that happened to me a couple weeks ago. I drank waaaayyyy too much coffee before going to meet my personal trainer, and I was wired. I was shaking like crazy and it reminded me of when I had alcohol withdrawal. My heart was racing and I felt miserable and mortified. Luckily I have told my trainer about my alcoholism and was able to laugh it off a bit. And I’ve cut back on the caffeine.

  4. Pingback: Gratitude for Sobriety and Running | So Very Slightly Mad

  5. sherryd32148 says:

    Sometimes the hubs and I are just one health complaint after another and I think, “OMG! We’ve become THOSE people!” So I put an end to it and, like you, try not to take my relatively good health for granted.

    I wish there was something I could say or do to ease Mrs. F through this. It sucks but it does get better after a while. It’s just hard going through it. Just remember that there’s nothing better than nice crisp sheets to help you fall asleep at night. (hint…hint).

    😉

    Sherry

  6. daisyfae says:

    Hoping she is better soon! i know this feeling well… and am reminded that we are all one phone call away from daytime nightmares. Those test results, for us or our loved ones… Every day above the roses is a good one!

  7. rhodysober says:

    I have never felt so grateful for my health now that (a) I am sober and (b) my thyroid medication has kicked in. I feel unbelievably renewed. I hope things resolve with the health issues that you and your wife are experiencing!

  8. byebyebeer says:

    I’m sorry to hear about you and your wife. Hope these issues clear up, and sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

