Busy, Busy…

Firstly it is all go on the course front.  After three flat out weeks – it is half term!  Seriously though this year is clearly a kick up from last.  Firstly clearly there is much more “self learning” expected, i.e. here’s a topic or a hint go find out for yourself and then we’ll discuss.  Personally I don’t mind this approach making you probably end up learning more than just listen to a lecture then supposedly reading around the subject.  Whilst we’re still “easing” back into skills practice sessions (role playing a session with someone needing help on a topic they’ve been given in a scenario brief) already the feedback is of a higher level, asking you to push yourself further forward.  This week I was put into a group with the brief to think about, research etc. how to set up a rehab unit.  Not perhaps surprisingly I was the only one who had ever set foot in such a place and the conversation with the others in the group was interesting trying to explain 12 steps, step work in groups, fellowship meetings etc. in a short time.

Coupled with general “busyness” at work is that 2 days last week and 2 days this week I’m attending training for the volunteering role with the charity that works with addicted prisoners.  I have to say being impressed by the quality of the training, the thought in it and the commitment and participation of everyone I’ve come across on the training so far.  I’m really enjoying it.  However some of the conflicts between the requirements in that role vs the boundaries, limits etc. in the counselling course has caused me to head flip more than once.  But all good stuff – didn’t I say recently I’d not been stretched enough?   Be careful what you wish for!

My guitar build is progressing slowly – the finish is building up nicely but it takes a lot of coats and fitting that in around other stuff means I’ve getting 2 maybe 3 a week tops.  So another week or two before I’m close to think about any assembly and set up work.  It’ll be all there on my other blog when I get further on.

So that’s it for now.  Oh yes and finally I seem to be back at least to over 95% normal after all the balance, headache etc. issues.  🙂  Very happy about that

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy, Busy…

  1. A discussion about how to set up a rehab sounds really interesting to me. I had such a positive experience at mine, but I know a lot of people hated being there.

  2. elsieamata says:

    I learn so much more by doing versus listening. I’m in a class now too. Whew, busy is right. I’m excited for you about the prisoner program. You’re gonna rock it!

Leave a Reply

