All at sea

The last week has felt like I’ve been all at sea – literally.  The old Migraine Associated Vertigo has come back folks.  😦  Very 😦

Long in the tooth readers will know I’ve suffered this for ages.  I’ve been doing well lately with virtually nothing and they had changed to more visual ones earlier in the year I was getting these vision disturbances which if I just sat and let it go past reasonably quickly.  But last Monday I got up and headed downstairs, I nearly went head first, thinking “Oh shit the world is all moving”.  Monday was bad, Tuesday better, Wednesday ok, Thursday not do good, Friday and Saturday bad and then Sunday better, Monday a lot better… today is back to in the middle.

Symptoms are – a pressure headache in my left temple – just like someone is pushing with their thumb there constantly.  Slight haziness in peripheral vision but none of the squiggly moving lines I had been getting.  Vertigo – feeling dizzy, it’s not been as bad as some attacks I’ve had which have been totally debilitating but it is like every surface I’m walking on is in a gentle swell which makes you look a total goon as you try to walk along the pavement.  Finally and most annoying to me is a phonosensitivity which means some noises are over emphasised and painful – bass notes/sounds in particular.  The washing machine on fast spin is unbearably painful as are many buses/lorries as they initially accelerate away.  Listen to music isn’t altogether pleasant – you can imagine for me that is the worst thing of the whole deal.

Doing some reading – this is one of the unknown conditions of the world by the looks of it.  Loads of people suffer with similar symptoms and causes are varied one sight I read indicated atmospheric pressure changes can bring it on… that I really think is a big trigger for me.  I’ve suffered it when in the summer and it’s been really hot – so very high pressure.  We’ve gone from a mild and late summer to a hectic windy and wet autumn which seemed to happen over night and at the same time my head flipped.

Still – take the tablets – painkillers do seem to help and I think decongestants have helped a bit with the ear problem.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All at sea

  1. byebyebeer says:

    Oh no! Hope you find relief and soon. It sounds awful.

  2. fern says:

    I have been having a cluster migraine for about a week now. I think seasonal changes and atmospheric pressure have a lot to do with it. I get pain behind my right eye and sometimes the aura. Sound sensitive is bad. For about 10 days I’ve had neck pain. Dr pute on antibiotics

  3. fern says:

    Oops! I pushed post too soon.

    I hope you feel better soon!

  4. JJ says:

    Holy cow, I had vertigo for 3 days in March. I still can’t figure out why although it might have been very high blood pressure at the time. It is awful, the loss of balance, the nausea and vomiting.

    I hope it doesn’t stick around for you, we want you back playing your guitar.

  5. sherryd32148 says:

    I’ve had migraines but never vertigo…how awful that must be!

    Take care of yourself. Hope you can enjoy your music soon.

    Sherry

  6. 1looby says:

    Good job you don’t drink any more then — the hand washers in Wetherspoons are absolutely deafening, borderline painful, even without anything wrong!

  7. daisyfae says:

    this sounds absolutely terrible… i had a period of time with ocular migraines, and it sucked. i have also had a brief bout of vertigo – horrible and debilitating. i cannot fathom both of these things hitting at once… hoping that it passes soon, and you’re back on your feet again!

Leave a Reply

