Walking the walk

Walk the walk and talk the talk – ever heard that one?  I looked it up just to see where it comes from. “20th Century Americanism” is the comment then followed with “actions speak louder than words”.

I’m trying to do some of this at the moment.  I feel like I’ve been through a period of semi shut down.  I don’t know I’ve not been bothered with much really I’ve felt I was just going through the motions.  Easy to do isn’t it, cruise along.  Set the thing on the steering wheel take your foot of the accelerator and allow something else to just relieve you of something that you think is unimportant.  But you then lose the engagement and the need to focus on what you are doing, you don’t have to monitor your speed to make sure you are under the limit, you don’t have to notice you are going up a hill and need to just east a little more on the pedal to maintain the right speed it just does it for you.  You lose that engagement and involvement in the process.

I’m trying to not use cruise control at the moment – I mean that both literally and figuratively.  My use of it is a symptom of the desire to not engage, to abdicate my potential involvement in the world.  So what am I also doing to make sure it is me consciously controlling the accelerator of life?  Here’s a list…

  1. Taken on the role of secretary at my local home meeting.  Have to line up speakers and keep the meeting to time etc.
  2. Been elected to a similar role in my area assembly meetings.  (Now scared manically I’ll screw it up…. calm… breath… etc) 😉
  3. My birthday present which I can’t wait to get my hands on from my wife is a Strat style 12 string build it yourself kit.  This build will be covered in depth on my other blog.
  4. Lined up a gig.  I just answered a plea from someone for artists to play at a local venue, they booked me and I’m off there on Saturday to play.  My ever supportive family are rallying round and I’ll have a small band supporters at least in one part of the crowd!
  5. Painted the bathroom.  Sounds daft but something I’d been simply putting off as I couldn’t be bothered.  Painted it all, new blind fitted, etc.  Job done and pleasing results

Good start.  Need to be conscious I don’t let the malaise of apathy wash over me again and stay engaged with stuff that is worth doing.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Walking the walk

  1. elsieamata says:

    I’m much like you. I can easily drift over to stagnation if I don’t do some kind of service work. I find it helps me stay focused on my emotional sobriety and avoid detaching from life. Good for you for all you’re doing in service of others. Happy Almost Birthday!

  2. sherryd32148 says:

    Sometimes we just find ourselves in a funk. For me, like you, without a list I’m doomed to stay in the funk for who knows how long! But once I make a list and get on with my bad self, I seem to come out of it.

    Good luck – you list looks a lot more fun than mine usually do. 😉

    Sherry

  3. JJ says:

    Holy cow, building your own guitar. Be interesting to see that. You must have a workshop area to build something that exact.

    Which reminds me of a book my husband discovered that you might like, it’s a book about guitars by mystery writer Jonathan Kellerman called “With Strings Attached: The Art and Beauty of Vintage Guitars” ISBN 978-0345499783. I put an inter-library loan request in for it along with the Neil Oliver book on Vikings you recommended.

  4. Suburbia says:

    Glad you are feeling better, well done for getting motivated – not easy at the best of times!

  5. Pingback: Back to school | Guitars and Life

Leave a Reply

