Taxi!!!

These days when I don’t drink I find I can do the easiest of things without a concern – without worry even dread some times.

I used to think that I couldn’t cope with Friday without drinking.  Somewhere in my early drinking career Friday became a day I just drank.  Go to work, sole purpose to be in the pub at or before noon.  Stay there as long as I could get away with, to the point I often never went back to work on a Friday afternoon or if I did it was only for a few minutes before I left early!  Then off to the pub again before getting home.  Then out about 8pm to go see a band at my local pub… i.e. drink more.

However as my son got older he joined the scouts and the main evening for things to do was a Friday.  This meant I often was asked to pick him and his friend up about 10pm.  I picked them up numerous times totally over the drink drive limit.  Not something I’m proud of.  I used to dread it when I knew I’d failed any kind of control and was sure someone would challenge me or worse still call the police etc.  Somehow I never had a crash and never hurt anyone… that doesn’t justify it it is just something I am grateful for.

This Saturday my daughter went out “clubbing” to celebrate a friends birthday and before a bunch of them all head off to university in the coming days.  Her boyfriend was also out “clubbing” with his football club – I think to celebrate a birthday… maybe not it was a bit vague!

1:30am – yes folks I’m still awake and I pull up at the agreed place and they get in, not too worse for their night out and drive them home.  No worry, no problem… a simple little thing but for me a great thing to be able to do.  This for those of you who study the programme is my Step 9 – this is the direct amends today I can make for the things I did wrong before.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taxi!!!

  1. sherryd32148 says:

    Oh my…this one made me choke up. Aren’t the simple things the greatest things when we’re sober?

    Sherry

  2. Consistently interesting posts. Peeks into a world us non-drinkers can’t imagine. Things we didn’t know existed.

  3. Pingback: “We will not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it” | Guitars and Life

  4. daisyfae says:

    When my children were approaching ‘that age’ i told them that if they EVER were in a situation where they needed a ride, were concerned for their safety, or the safety of their friends, they could call me and invoke the “no bullshit” rule – and i would see that the evening was safely ended, and never bark at them about it again. Invoked once by my son – and i’m glad that he had the sense to call me in that moment…

Leave a Reply

