Summertime Blues

According to Eddie Cochran there “ain’t no cure” for them.

I have noticed over the years that often in the summer I do actually feel more “down”. I’ve equated this to changes around me but actually just this week done some research on it. Whilst not as prevalent, researched or treated as Winter Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) there is however some evidence of a summer equivalent affecting some people.

In reading around I know I need to hydrate better – when I do when it is hot I feel better. There is a significant amount of evidence not to drink diet soda drink as the sweetener they have can lead to depression. Disruption to patterns – my wife works in a school therefore every summer she is home for 6 weeks and with children still in education (ok my son has moved on this year) again they are off for large chunks of time.

So the good news is as ever I isolate about stuff like this, let it bottle up in me, think it is only me that surely must feel like this. Clearly not… again! So what now? Well drink more water for a start, it is better and cheaper than the diet drinks anyway. I can’t do much about others patterns being different but I need to not let things drag on like I am thinking “I’ll do that after the summer”… why? Do it now! This is tied to my eternal procrastination anyway.

Tomorrow is R day – Results day. My daughter gets her A level results back and whatever plays out on the university front will play out. Her mood hasn’t been helped by all the experts telling this years cohort to expect worse results than they were predicted as the tightening of “standards” means you can very likely get a B this year with a same score as would have yielded an A last year. Now I might be a dunce but surely a standard is a standard an A is an A a B a B… if you want to change it, change the whole darn system. I don’t see universities lowering their entrance offers accordingly.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summertime Blues

  1. But water is so boring. Mao was wrong. Religion isn’t the opiate of the masses. Diet soda is.

    Standards are fluid but the trajectory of the cost of an education is ever-upward.

  2. Ugh — sweeteners can contribute to depression. 😦

  3. JJ says:

    I haven’t drunk soda for years, but I do forget to drink enough water–must remember.

    I find mid to late August the light changes and you can tell things are winding down in the garden, so I often get a lingering sadness, almost as if all the hopes and dreams that came with Spring are leaving. I can definitely identify with what you’re saying. Persephone will be leaving soon.

  4. Elsie Amata says:

    Glad you’re able to push past those feelings. It happens to me during the winter. Nothing terrible just that feeling of funk I need to be aware of and make sure I don’t dwell upon.

  5. daisyfae says:

    i’ve got a massive end-of-summer funk going right now. can’t say it’s full blown depression, but momentarily feeling out of control and overwhelmed. maybe it’s that we’re going into winter, and perhaps we start to feel that we didn’t make the best use of our sunshiney season? i’m just doing what i usually do – kinetic therapy, rather than let myself get lost in my thoughts. probably not healthy, but it usually works…

    i gave up drinking daily diet soda about a year ago. i still have one on occasion, but not the constant feed that i did before out of habit. replaced the soda with unsweetened iced tea, and don’t really miss the diet soda. can’t say it’s helped my mood, but it’s definitely less expensive to make my own tea! πŸ™‚

    fingers are tightly crossed that your daughter is happy with the results…

Leave a Reply

