Another lost soul

RIP Robin Williams. Great man, great comedian and actor but in the end another victim to addiction. I heard the news at 6am as my alarm went off and the news started. I only heard the headline before turning it off but was instantly saddened. An hour later on my drive to work I heard the expanded story, how he had been “battling severe depression” and recently “checked himself into a rehab programme” and finally that it was suspected that he’d “taken his own life”.

The rehab I attended 10 years ago this summer had a philosophy that addiction in all its many forms is simply a symptom of depression. In essence the addiction is the sufferers coping mechanism to live with a brain that doesn’t react to stimuli like other peoples do somehow it loses some part of the neurotransmission in the brain and people are unfulfilled and therefore seek other ways to change that. Whether that is fully true or not I don’t know but cases like poor Robin’s do seem to bare it out.

I know there will be many who’ll say “But he had all this wealth, fame, family … etc Why wasn’t that enough?” Because for an addict… it is never enough

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another lost soul

  1. Oh it’s so sad. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I know I’m repeating myself, but his death marks today as a sad day.

  2. I was on Twitter for two hours last night talking with others when this broke. Such compassion and love out there. Everyone spoke about how this illness doesn’t care about money or fame or anything. Depression is the same – and so when you have both, it can be a double-barelled shot gun. It’s tragic, and yet not surprising. He is well known, which makes this more sensational, but we know that countless take their lives every day, for the same reasons. And we don’t hear about them.

    Thanks for this, Graham. I will miss him.

  3. Elsie Amata says:

    Such a humbling reminder of how fragile we addicts can sometimes be, especially those who put on a happy face when they are hurting on the inside.

  4. sherryd32148 says:

    This one really rocked me hard. I guess because I’ve been battling my own depression, I’m an alcohohic and my teenage son has also been diagnosed with depression. It’s everywhere, it’s hereditary and, if left untreated, is fatal.

    Thanks for posting this Graham. You said it beautifully.

    Sherry

  5. I had to turn the radio off a few times because all the reporting made me so sad. Robin Williams has always occupied a special place in my heart. So many will miss him.

Leave a Reply

