Catchpenny

Catchpenny was a term my Dad often used, he meant it was something designed to purely take money of you by business, government or the ruling classes.  He’d have terms Father’s Day “catchpenny” without a doubt and frankly I feel a bit similar about it.  Simply put it is a tradition that only started in the 20th century in America so not the long routed tradition that Mothering Sunday (celebrated in March in the UK) has.

I don’t if I’m honest remember celebrating it much with my father ever he died in 1984 maybe it hadn’t caught on here much then, maybe I did but just don’t remember.

Anyway – today I did receive two lovely cards – both thoughtfully chosen and a couple of great gifts that I really appreciated.  But what I really appreciate is having great kids who are happy to call me Dad and chose to spend time with me and to buy me gifts given my past I can only be grateful for that.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Catchpenny

  1. fern says:

    I’m glad you had a good Father’s Day!!!

  2. Sounds like you had a wonderful Father’s Day! (And belated Father’s Day to you, of course). I don’t need anything, myself – just the gratitude of being with my family is enough (I know it sounds cheesy, but it’s true…)

    Cheers
    Paul

  3. Nice…. Happy for you

  4. sherryd32148 says:

    Happy Father’s Day!

    Sherry

  5. Happy Father’s Day!

  6. daisyfae says:

    While it’s nice to have a day set aside for such an acknowledgement, i’m sort of with your Father… i call them “Hallmark Holidays”, designed to sell greeting cards. Yes, i’m a bit of a cynic… but it is wonderful that it gave you, and your children, a moment to reflect and celebrate a bit!

  7. I think while yes, they are Hallmark Holidays, like daisyfae and your pops said, there is something nice about setting aside a day to celebrate. I think particularly for fathers because, while i think it’s changing, many men aren’t open with their emotions and love especially around their children and it’s nice that there is a day where it’s OK to celebrate those freely 🙂

Leave a Reply

