Course Update

It’s been a while since I talked on here about the course I’m on.  You may remember the master plan to move to a new career focused on counselling.  So last Sept I embarked on the initial stages of this.  Given I have no formal training or experience I looked at the ladder and started at the bottom with an introductory Counselling Skills course.  I’m approaching the end of that now.  We have had two major assessments completed and an assignment – all of which I’ve met the criteria as proficient.  Yesterday I completed my last assessment with my working partner – we had to hold a 20 min session which we recorded and will now be listened to by one of the tutors to assess whether we were able to meet the criteria of hold the session safely, ethically and providing the helpee (client) with the autonomy to direct the session and to consider our skills around questioning and active listening.

I have to complete my portfolio of work that shows where the tutor has assessed that I’ve met all the criteria on the course and finally we sit an externally assessed exam but I passed the mock one a couple of weeks back which again gives me confidence that the whole thing is attainable.

I’ve just applied for the next stage – a similar course at the next step up where you build on all of the material learnt this year in more depth and some additional categories are introduced, notably significantly more emphasis on the unpinning theories in counselling work which I know I’ll find of great interest.  I could have done that on an intensive course over three months but decided that the self reflection that I’ve found valuable on the course I’m just completing has been more valuable when there is more time to consider so I’m going for another year long course although that delays my getting fully qualified etc.  Pushing against one of my natural desires to get to the finish line quickly… slowly I am learning to do the right thing for myself…

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Course Update

  1. sherryd32148 says:

    You are going to make an AMAZING counselor if the comments and support you provide on this blog are of any indication. I’ve said it before and I mean it – your comments always help me so much and are always delivered with grace and wisdom.

    I can’t wait to hear about your next step.

    Sherry

  2. I’m so excited for you! You’re going to be a great counsellor and I hope are able to help loads of people in need.

  3. daisyfae says:

    i’m pretty sure you’re going to be an exceptional counselor!

Leave a Reply

