Quiet on here…

I’ve realised that I mostly make drafts of posts in the morning on the train to work. I’ve not been to work since before Easter until today – hence my silence on the blog front. Also I’ve been doing very little! Gardening mostly. Washing the car…  that kind of stuff…

After the Rome trip we had a lovely Easter with my son and his girlfriend arriving home early to surprise Mrs F all as part of her birthday celebrations. We’d clubbed together for her to spend a day being pampered etc at a famous Spa in London. She went off with Daughter-of-Furtheron for the day to there then Son-of-Furtheron, his girlfriend and I met them for a meal in her favourite restaurant in Covent Garden. Our son and his girlfriend then stayed over Easter and we had a couple of lovely days out in Rochester and Whitstable before they had to return to the rigours of their respective PhD studies.

Mrs F completed almost three weeks of celebrations with a day in London on Saturday with her group of closest friends and they went on a river cruise, slap up meal etc.

So not much more to say really. I’m a few days away from my 10th sober anniversary (or AA birthday if you want to call it that).

10 years! How the hell did I manage that? I might get all reflective and nostalgic in the run up to this occasion. However the thread that has kept me sober in all that time is in simple summary…

  • Don’t pick up the first drink
  • Go to meetings and listen to others who are walking the same path
  • Try to improve myself in someway all the time – at least ensure I don’t regress!
About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Alcoholism, Family, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quiet on here…

  1. byebyebeer says:

    Ten years! A decade, huh? Wow. You’re my hero because your approach is so down to earth. I appreciate that, appreciate you. Sounds like a lovely celebration for your wife’s birthday. Good times.

  2. Congrats on your anniversary. Well done, sir. Here’s to 10 more. (Raises my coffee.)

    Your absence has been noticed.

    Isn’t it great that you can type the words “son” and “PhD” in the same paragraph? You sure did something right, brother. I hope that happens to me one day.

  3. fern says:

    Ten years is cause for celebration! Congratulations!!!

  4. Wow! Ten years! I feel very lucky to have met you because of our sobriety and blogging. Congrats!

  5. Suburbia says:

    Always love your positive posts, congrats on your 10th year. How’s your course going? Week 2 for me and quite challenging

    Thanks for your comment on my oysters! Not a dutches but a fun day none the less! Too many watching eyes on there to be more specific!

    • furtheron says:

      I might do a course update soon… simple answer – pressure now ON!!! Assignment done and in, getting portfolio sorted out. Soon to be observed and assessed and then a second audio assessment to be done too… the exams!!!

  6. Wowza! Congrats on your upcoming 10 years! Hope you find a special way to celebrate. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

