And then there’s lots to do…

How would I describe how I feel at the moment?  Stressed!  Manic!   That’ll do.

I’ve drifted along for a while quiet happily just drifting with the tide really.  Work has been largely ok just drifting…  course has been … drifting along ok and life in general just… drifting.

However suddenly everything seems to have clicked into overdrive.  There is a deadline of 31st of March for something crucial at work but I only work two days a week and that is Tues/Wed – so today (26th) is actually my deadline as I’ll not be back into the office until 1st April.   Now one of the things that really really REALLY annoys me about where I work is that everything is last minute.  You remind people, you set them an earlier deadline etc. but everyone waits until the 11th hour then runs around manically to fix it.  It really bugs me, it is endemic in the place frankly.

So I’m really annoyed when I got to work yesterday and people were like – I’ll get to that later in the week, deadline is Monday.  GRRRRR!!  I told you I’m not here get it done now!   And I don’t feel I’m doing a good job as a result of all that.  Plus some other things are meaning my two days in the office are a big mad at the moment.  I’m determined not to start thinking – “I’ll catch up on that at home” since

  • they agreed to only 2 days
  • they only pay me for 2 days!

Also on the course there are now assignment deadlines, a deadline to prepare my portfolio of work for an initial review, mock exams looming, official assessment sessions etc.  Gulp!  Luckily I’ve got ahead of the curve on the assignment but now I really need to let it go and focus on the other stuff.   

Oh yes and I’m off to Rome next week for a few days for Mrs F’s 50th – then there is her 50th – then there is Easter… 

So I need to let go.  Do the things I really have to that I really can – most of the work stuff can be consigned to the bin marked “Do what you can and accept the results”.  However I am finding myself waking early and worrying… I hate that feeling.  Some I know live to be in that state of perpetual on the edge I don’t I much prefer drifting but I think I’ve a few weeks to wait until I’m back into drifting mode.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And then there’s lots to do…

  1. It’s the natural ebb and flow of deadlines. Nothing out of the ordinary. Rest assured that the universe is not picking on you. Ride the crest of the demand and sooner or later you’ll be back to the drift.

  2. sherryd32148 says:

    so since you’ve got so much on your plate right now I’ll give you a quick and easy gift for wife of Furtherton’s big day. Nope…it’s not breakfast in bed or diamonds (although they’re both very nice) and it’s not chocolate or a new pair of Italian shoes (I’m a European 38…thanks for asking).

    Just put fresh towels in the bath and clean sheets on the bed.

    Home. Run.

    Sherry

  3. The busy days help us better appreciate the quiet ones. Hang in there, do what you can.
    Rome sounds fun. I’ve been to Venice, but not Rome. Would love to someday.

  4. Love this post and can certainly empathize. In fact, my empathy button went off and I wanted to see what I could do to help (it’s a trait that drives my hubby crazy)! That said, you outlined the perfect solution in your last paragraph: “So I need to let go. Do the things I really have to that I really can – most of the work stuff can be consigned to the bin marked “Do what you can and accept the results”. Actually, that’s a really great approach to life in general.
    So glad I happened upon your space. I’ll be eager to hear about your trip!
    Michelle

  5. I had a job that often didn’t really begun until after 5pm when the big boss man called tomgive us our missives for the day. But we were expected to be at the ready from 8am. It felt like management was playing games with us rather than being the nature of the work. There were nights when my 4year old had to watch Pokemon in my office at 10pm because we didn’t have a sitter and my husband couldn’t get back from his own crazy hours job. It was not a good situation.

    I hope things get less hectic and more enjoyable for you.

  6. Suburbia says:

    Good luck with all that! (it sounds horribly familiar)

  7. daisyfae says:

    Coming in on 1 April, i do hope it got sorted out – and that you were able to pull together something sufficient for the deadline. i hate being dependent on others to do my job – but that is the nature of most office jobs. We are at the mercy of others…

Leave a Reply

