St Patrick’s Day

I’ve said it before my liquid bomb of choice in my drinking days was Guinness.  So you’d think I’d have loved St Paddy’s Day… NO!  The opposite, that night all these other tossers clogging up the bar slowing down the service of MY drink.  I’d have gladly suffocated all of them with those stupid bloody hats they buy!

So funny to remember those days now – I hated – and I really do mean HATED those people.  Today I sit and chuckle and find it all odd and amusing again like looking at someone else’s life only to realise I was the main character in it.  Today I’ll wish all the Irish Happy St Patrick’s Day only slightly through gritted teeth after they snatched the 6 nations trophy from us – well we needed to rely on the French, I mean a penalty and a try and they missed both!  Still another sober day – that is all that matters isn’t it.

 

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to St Patrick’s Day

  1. I spent St Patrick’s Day in 2002 or 2003 in a horrible detox at the hospital. I stayed sober 2 years then went down the rabbit hole again until late 2005. That’s all I remember when I think if St Patrick’s Day. That godawful detox and how scared I was.

  2. Elsie says:

    It is rather funny to look back on where we’ve been, where we came from before sobriety. It’s hard to believe I made any of the choices I did back then. If the current me met the younger version of me, I can only imagine the lectures aka help, she’d give.

  3. daisyfae says:

    i adore my Celtic friends, but can’t stand the way the holiday has morphed into an all-day drunk here in the U.S. If i were Irish? i’d be terribly offended…

Leave a Reply

