Transitions

Life as a parent is a series of transitions isn’t it? Probably all life is. I was thinking this yesterday as Mrs F was cuddling our new great nephew, a tiny little bundle of new life who simply slept and eat in the few hours we visited.

First will be the transition from that to a cheeky little toddler.  Then before you know it we’ll see pictures of him in school uniform. Then will come adolescence and the teenage years, the forging his own life and then maybe kids of his own. All the while his parents running to catch up with being his Mum and Dad.

It is a cycle repeated again and again and again.

I don’t know when Mrs F and I will go through the becoming grandparents stage,  assuming we do of course. One thing is sure son-of-Furtheron has moved out for good (despite the ton of his stuff still in our house!) and Daughter-of-Furtheron will be at uni this time next year hopefully. Another transition for us to get through. Then what? Downsizing the house probably on need for the family home then what?  Time will tell.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Transitions

  1. I pray for that transition to arrive. I love my daughters, etc., etc., but I miss my freedom of movement. I yearn for the air.

  2. sherryd32148 says:

    I don’t know but if you figure it out please let me know. I’m struggling right now with what to do in the next couple of years when they are all on their own.

    Sigh…

  3. Suburbia says:

    It all goes so quickly. I have enjoyed the teen years the most so far. Want them to leave/don’t want them to leave – such a weird feeling after looking after them for so long.

  4. 1looby says:

    Mine are 14 now and I have to admit I do feel like Mr Exile sometimes–I feel like being able to take off, work abroad for a while or something.

  5. I do like not gabbing to plan around school holidays anymore. But I miss my very bad child.

    • Gah, I really need to look at what auto spell has done to my comments before I hit “post”.

      It should read “having to plan”. Not that I never gab about plans, but that sentence looks ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

