Listening to others who’ve slipped

Remember I was talking about my momentary flunk a month or so back and then suddenly being asked to speak at a couple of meetings… guess what … yes… I was asked to speak at another one this week.

It is odd how these things work.  I have to say it was a hell of a rambling talk, I started off talking about this week for me and stuff, then about my drinking going to rehab, being taken to my first meeting… etc.   It had little structure and as like I say more a stream of consciousness than anything.  But, people listened and they shared back, there were tears, a confession I wasn’t expecting…. just typical stuff really.

The confession is the third one I’ve heard in as many weeks of people who’ve slipped on their path of recovery.  It happens, but all three are people I wouldn’t have expected I thought they were going well, safe, secure.  None of us are, these confessions are a stark reminder to me no-one is bullet proof in their recovery. 

I’m so grateful these men came back and told me about it.  I hope for my sake that I learn from them and don’t make the same mistakes.  I hope for their sakes these were minor bumps and that they get back on board the boat and stay there.

For all of them it wasn’t a big thing, no one died, they didn’t get kicked out of home or lose a job or anything.  They just thought – f*** it I could do with a drink to make me feel better.  And so they took one, and another, and another… and guess what soon they felt worse not better.  It is a story we all have heard, and many have experienced before starting recovery and some in their on going trudge on it’s path.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Listening to others who’ve slipped

  1. I never know if I like the statement that slips are a part of recovery or not. I’ve heard that said in a lot of meetings and I know it’s meant to make it easier for the person to get past the slip and back into recovery. But I think some folk use it as an excuse to play Russian roulette with their sobriety.

    I guess at the end of the day, I’m glad that those who have slipped and made it back to sobriety are brave enough to share their tales.

  2. It’s speaks volumes that unexpected confessions and tears count as just typical stuff!

    Or…wait…was that a clever barb? I’ll try to keep up.

    My step-father slipped, gave my mom some hell and I never forgave him for it. That was a long, long time ago. I wonder where that guy is today?

  3. i think it’s great to hear about slips–especially and almost exclusively the ones that didn’t lead to anything majorly destructive, just feeling WORSE and drinking MORE than one thought they were going to when they said “fuck it” and took the first sip! I think it’s great to learn and hear about those ups and downs, as they are as much about recovering from this disorder of the mind than quitting and staying quit. If it was easy, it wouldn’t have been such a problem to begin with! Kudos to you.

Leave a Reply

