This blog.

This blog is going to become more the “life” blog part of Guitarsandlife.  Over at my other guitarsandlife blog I’ll still be there and talking about music and guitars on there but here I’ll take some more time to ponder on life, the universe and everything… 42 or 6 x 7 … in base 13…   If you don’t get that read Doulas Adams’ Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy or go look at Wiki!

I hope that people enjoy it – please follow both blogs for a full picture of my life…

I start my counselling course today.  This has been a while in the making as those who’ve read the other blog know.  So how do I feel?  Trepidatious – this is a new start.  Things haven’t quite gone to plan, the course was to be an intensive one with two exams in Jan and Jul to get you through to start a diploma within a year, you need to diploma to practice.  But lack of people with enough funds means that it has fallen back to a two year night class with an exam in July 2014 and July 2015.  Pain.  But that is life nothing I can do about it.

However I am now fretting about money – stupid really we are well off, I still am working 2 days a week at the uni and that covers most of the regular bills, but not all and so we are slowly already watching the pile we’re sitting on that we’ve built up over the years go down.  But it is only money and I can’t take it with me, why not spend it now in my 50s trying something new rather than in my 70s… er presuming I get there.  Exactly live in today not tomorrow.

But I also feel disenchanted even more with work – now I only work 2 days I really feel like I’m not achieving much at all and all the negative issues I have over my performance etc. is coming back to the fore.  I have a review at the end of this month and my boss hasn’t complained yet we’ll see then.  I’ll raise it and now I’m not at the course a full day a week might even suggest if possible raising my hours up a bit more again, maybe 3 days in the office rather than 2 – that would push us to covering the month’s bills and might help me feel more connected.  Funny work is so important even though I know really it isn’t it is just a thing I do to earn money, I wish I had the talent to really do something that changed people’s lives but I don’t like the majority of other people and really I need to grow to have the “pride in an unrewarding job” (Rush lyric about unsung heroes that sticks in my head when I think like this).

I’d love to just play/work on guitars all day but then you can’t make a living out of that.
 

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This blog.

  1. C says:

    Thanks for redirecting us over here – I like the life stories a lot so will be following this one too.
    Wishing you lots of luck with the counselling course, I imagine it’ll be fascinating and rewarding. Look forward to hearing about it!

  2. Candy Minx says:

    Sounds like a lot of good things in your life.

    I had written a newsy comment here…but wordpress ate it 😦

    great to catch up with you!

    cheers,
    Candy

  3. sherryd32148 says:

    I think I’ll give the hubs the link to your other blog since he’s a musician and loves all manner of guitars. 20 or so years ago I bought him a Les Paul Anniversary Edition guitar and, based on a recent valuation, I choose well (even though I had no idea what I was doing). He also recently sold a 1958 Gibson ES335 to a collector for a crazy amount of money. And we STILL have a number of guitars. But he doesn’t complain about my shoes and I don’t complain about his (and one son’s) guitars.

    I’ll hang around on this side of your blogosphere…I like your life stuff.

    Sherry

  4. daisyfae says:

    i’m just digging out after my summer of travel and mucking about… good to hear that your working on the balance, and have the opportunity to possibly tune it up a bit. Will be sure to put this one in my reader to see how things go…

Leave a Reply

