One of the best ways to learn is to teach…

You know the old adage “Those who can, do. Those that can’t, teach”.  Well as I slowly get older and wiser (well maybe not so much of the latter) I realise that I don’t agree with that necessarily.

Recently a friend asked me about setting up a “website”.  A quick chat I realised a site based around a blog was appropriate with some additional static pages as well as the site is about walking people through the process(es) involved in pitching an idea and working that idea/proposal to get a work (play, TV programme etc.) actually produced.

So whilst a relative newcomer to WordPress (I’ve had a blogger blog for years) I thought WordPress the best option, it certainly seems to be winning out as the dominant tool and I’ve seen some incredible sites with much much more functionality that you’d expect from just a blog.

In helping get this friend up and running it has pushed my level of knowledge of WordPress further than it was very quickly.  Having someone say “I want to do x” and you having to quickly investigate and either document it in a quick “Here’s how” guide or demoing it to them and/or walking them through it means I’ve probably learnt in a couple of weeks what would have probably taken a couple of months in general blogging and fiddling about.

I’m still in a quandary now as I have this site here and my old established blog at http://guitarsandlife.blogspot.co.uk.  I’ve had some posts in sync on here recently others not.  Do I maintain both or gracefully retire my old one and direct everyone over here… to be decided I suppose.

About furtheron

Music and guitar obsessive who is a recovering alcoholic to boot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One of the best ways to learn is to teach…

  1. Susanne says:

    This one has a neater look.

Leave a Reply

